Gratkowski / Anderskov “ardent grass”

Frank Gratkowski (alto saxophone, clarinet, bass clarinet)
Jacob Anderskov (piano)

Red Toucan Records (RT 9340)

1 Narrative – 10:55
2 Diagnose – 6:18
3 Ardent grass – 6:55
4 Asteroids – 8:01
5 Rasa – 5:51
6 Devotion – 6:37
7 Downstairs – 6:44
8 Sound check – 4:16

All music by Frank Gratkowski (GEMA) & Jacob Anderskov (KODA)
All music recorded at Loft, Köln, by Christian Heck, October 28th, 2009, except track 1, recorded at Loft, Köln, by Stefan Deistler, September 7th, 2008.
Mixed and mastered by Jacob Anderskov & John Fomsgaard at Vibevej, Copenhagen.
Produced by Gratkowski & Anderskov.
Thanks to everybody involved in the making of the concerts and production, including Hans Jürgen von Osterhausen, Hans Martin Müller, Dieter Manderscheid, Lotte Anker, Paul Lovens, Thomas Lehn, Matthias Muche, Christian Heck, Stefan Deistler, John Fomsgaard & Michel Passaretti.

“Gratkowski and Anderskov build a compelling chronicle as they traverse the compositions all of which were written by the former. The interplay between the two is inspired, with the contrast of pulse and mood adding depth to texture.”
– Jerry D’Souza in All about Jazz